Plans for funeral of Anja Niedringhaus in Germany

April 10, 2014
Email Print Text
Anja Niedringhaus
The funeral of Associated Press photojournalist Anja Niedringhaus will take place on Saturday, April 12, at Corvey Abbey, a Benedictine monastery near her birthplace in Hoexter, Germany.
 
Niedringhaus was killed by an Afghan policeman in an attack on April 4, which seriously wounded veteran AP correspondent Kathy Gannon.  Gannon is undergoing treatment at Krankenhaus Nordwest, a medical facility in Frankfurt, Germany, and remains in stable condition.
 
The service is scheduled to begin at 12 noon local time in Germany (6 a.m. ET / 1000 GMT).

President and CEO Gary Pruitt, Senior Vice President and Executive Editor Kathleen Carroll and Vice President and Director of Photography Santiago Lyon are among those attending from the AP. Carroll and Lyon are scheduled to offer remarks.
 
A livestream of the service will be available on AP.org starting at 5 a.m. ET / 0900 GMT. At the request of Niedringhaus' family, AP will cover and distribute both video and photos for pool, with no restriction. Satellite coordinates and contact information have been made available to AP customers in a media advisory.
 
It is the wish of Niedringhaus' family that other working media representatives refrain from gathering news inside the church or outside on the church grounds.
 
About AP
The Associated Press is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, AP today is the most trusted source of independent news and information. On any given day, more than half the world's population sees news from AP. On the Web: www.ap.org.
 
Contact
Paul Colford
Director of Media Relations
The Associated Press
212-621-1895
pcolford@ap.org
 
Erin Madigan White
Senior Media Relations Manager
The Associated Press
212-621-7005
emadigan@ap.org


© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions apply. See AP.org for details.
All contents © copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved.