AP works for you: web-based training



The Associated Press is working to increase value for members, finding ways to innovate and streamlining your ability to search, share and deploy content for your publications or websites. Each week we offer free, comprehensive online training sessions to ensure you have fast, easy and reliable access to the news you want. These sessions are designed to be interactive, so you can ask questions and get answers to make these tools work so you can derive maximum value from your AP services.

To join the online meeting:

Select the session you would like to attend and click "Join Now."
Enter your name and e-mail address.
Enter the meeting password: AP (case sensitive)
Follow the instructions that appear on your screen.
Call-in toll-free number (U.S./Canada): 1-866-699-3239
Call-in toll number (U.S./Canada): 1-408-792-6300

>>AP Custom News (60 minutes)

Click here to join

THURSDAY: 2:00 p.m. Eastern | 1:00 p.m. Central | 12:00 noon Mountain | 11:00 a.m. Pacific

AP Custom News is a powerful online platform offering access to AP’s vast database of content and allowing you to seamlessly integrate automatically-updating modules into your website on many diverse topics. This session will give you an overview of the capabilities of the platform, including how to get started by uploading a template and customizing the style of content to match your site, creating custom searches based on criteria you define and applying that content to many different modules that can be embedded within your website or used in custom sections updated around the clock by AP editors.


>>AP WebFeeds and WebFeeds Manager (60 minutes)

Click here to listen to a recorded session

AP WebFeeds and the AP WebFeeds Manager delivers AP content into your editorial system over the Web in an enhanced digital format that allows great flexibility for storing and publishing. AP WebFeeds not only deliver text, photos, graphics, video and audio, but also contain rich metadata, which allows automatic sorting of news into hundreds of topics demanded by readers and advertisers. Plus, production teams can configure AP WebFeeds to save on bandwidth and storage.

>>AP Exchange School of Search (30 minutes)

Click here to listen to a recorded session
 
AP Exchange is a powerful online tool offering access to AP’s vast database of content. Knowing how to run effective searches will help you find news that is most meaningful to your beat, audiences, story or market. AP’s School of Search training session offers search tips and tricks, many of which can be used in any search engine, not just AP Exchange. The session also covers how you can build a custom feed and get e-mail alerts from AP Exchange. Join us to learn how to become a search expert and find relevant news more quickly.

All contents © copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved.