The Associated Press
New York City Bureau
450 W. 33rd St.
New York, NY 10001 
Fax: 212-621-1679

Bureau Chief
Howard Goldberg

Please "like" us
on Facebook

Public e-mail for press releases: or

Newspaper and broadcast banquets set for May 31

The New York State AP Association voted at its fall board meeting to move its annual awards banquet to the spring to coincide with the AP broadcast members' event. Save the date of Saturday, May 31, to attend the NYSAPA awards luncheon and/or the NYSAPBA dinner in Saratoga Springs.

For details, follow the links for Newspaper Members or Broadcasters. Going forward, the newspaper contest will cover each calendar year, so work done in 2013 was eligible to be entered by Feb. 3 for the current contest, even if it was entered this past June for the awards announced in September 2013.

The newspaper and broadcast boards also agreed to merge and work together on training on subjects of mutual interest. Watch this space for details on a scheduled Electronic Journalism Workshop on Saturday, Oct. 25 at Syracuse University's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications.

NYSAPA names Newspapers of Distinction

Newspapers in Geneva, Utica, Albany and Rochester were honored Oct. 2 at the NYSAPA annual meeting in Syracuse as Newspapers of Distinction by the New York State Associated Press Association.

The Finger Lakes Times of Geneva, The Observer Dispatch of Utica, Albany Times Union, and Democrat & Chronicle of Rochester were judged the best newspapers in their respective circulation categories. The entire news product, print and digital, was judged in this competition.

The NYSAPA is one of the oldest and most competitive journalistic competitions for daily newspapers in the state. Out-of-state journalists are the judges.

Others honored by the NYSAPA are:
Charlie Specht, until recently with The Buffalo News, won the award named for the former Associated Press news editor in Albany and given to a journalist with up to three years' experience.
Todd Maisel of the New York Daily News won the Bernard J. Kolenberg Award for best in show for a photo of a firefighter at work during Superstorm Sandy. The award is named for an Albany Times-Union photographer killed in a plane crash in Vietnam while he was covering the war for The Associated Press.
Robert Kirkham of The Buffalo News won the Bruce Cromie Award for contributing the best of the state AP's "Photo of the Month" award winners. He captured an image of a motorist braking to stop as a buck leaps across a road. The award is named for an Albany photographer killed in an auto accident while on assignment for a member newspaper.
Multimedia reporter Michael Hill in the Albany bureau and investigative reporter David B. Caruso in the New York City bureau were named AP Staffers of the Year.

The rest of the award winners are posted on the Newspaper Members page. Winners may order duplicate copies of certificates here.

Broadcasters association is co-sponsoring a Future of Journalism conference with Fordham University's Department of Communication and Media Studies and WFUV-FM. It will be at the Lincoln Center campus in Manhattan on Oct. 26.The deadline to register was Sept. 27.


WNYC, WENY win top honors in AP's broadcast awards

WNYC radio in New York City and Elmira's WENY-TV have won the top awards in the New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association's annual news awards competition. The awards were presented June 1, 2013 during the NYSAPBA's annual banquet in Saratoga Springs.

WNYC won eight first-place awards to earn the NYSAPBA's Steve Flanders Award, given to the radio station with the most top finishes in the competition for news stories aired during the previous calendar year. WENY took first place in six categories to win the grand prize in the television competition. The station also won the award in 2012. WNYC edged out WRVO-FM in Oswego, which won seven first-place awards. Buffalo's WIVB-TV won five first-place awards.

Other TV stations winning multiple first-place awards included WKTV in Utica with four and Buffalo's WGRZ-TV and WNBC-TV in New York City with three apiece. The News 12 stations for Long Island, Westchester-Yonkers and the Hudson Valley won a total of six first-place awards. Other radio stations taking home first-place awards included Buffalo's WBFO and WBEN with six and three, respectively, and WCBS in New York City with two.

In the college competition, WHRU-FM at Hofstra University, WFUV-FM at Fordham University and Syracuse University's Newhouse School were first-prize winners. WFUV in the Bronx won the inaugural Chris Ulanowski Memorial Award for best news story, named for the former longtime WRVO news director and NYSAPBA board member who died in 2011.

The banquet's guest speaker was former New York Gov. David Paterson, who was a radio talk show host on WOR in New York City after he left office in 2010.

To see the winners or order duplicate awards, visit the Broadcasters page.


Share your news

We rely on our members and the public to tip us off to news as it is happening. The Bureaus & Contacts link above tells how to reach us. We recognize the best news and feature photography around the state each month. Click the Photo of the Month link to see who won last month's $150 prizes and had their pictures entered into the New York State Associated Press Association annual contest.

Product information

AP Sports Extra

The Associated Press in New York State

The Associated Press in New York provides news in all formats to more than 70 newspapers and 150 broadcasters around the state. The Metro bureau in New York coordinates coverage of the city, Long Island and Westchester County. The Albany bureau edits and transmits news and sports stories and photos from the rest of the state. Staff includes a Syracuse sportswriter and a two-person Buffalo bureau covering news and sports in the western part of the state.

The Associated Press is the oldest and largest news organization in the world, serving as a source of news, photos, graphics, audio and video for more than one billion people a day. In the U.S. alone, AP serves 5,000 radio and TV stations and 1,700 newspapers.



Copyright © Associated Press 2013