Press Releases


AP announces new director 4 incumbents re-elected at annual meeting

NEW YORK – One new director was elected and four incumbents were re-elected to The Associated Press board of directors, it was announced at AP's annual meeting today at its New York headquarters.

Joining the AP cooperative’s board as a new director is Robert J. Dickey, president and chief executive officer of Gannett Co.  

Dickey became president and CEO of Gannett in 2015 following the company’s separation from Tegna Inc. He was previously president of Gannett’s U.S. Community Publishing Division, formerly the Newspaper Division, from 2008 until 2015. Gannett comprises 128 media organizations across the U.S. Its flagship brand is USA Today.  

The four incumbents re-elected to the board are: 

•    Robert Brown, president of Swift Communications.
•    Michael Golden, vice chairman of The New York Times Company.
•    William Hoffman, president of Cox Media Group.
•    Mary Junck, executive chairman of Lee Enterprises. 

These directors, including Dickey, were elected to three-year terms, with the exception of Junck, who was re-elected to a one-year term and is the board chairman. 

The AP board has 21 directors. Directors are elected by members, or appointed to the AP board by directors. 

Each director is eligible to serve up to a total of nine years, although the chairman is exempt from that rule. 

The 2015 Annual Report is available online.


Paul Colford
Vice President
and Director of Media Relations
The Associated Press

Lauren Easton
Media Relations Manager

Contact us