Press Releases


AP announces 1 new director, 4 incumbents at annual meeting

NEW YORK – One new director and four incumbents were named to The Associated Press board of directors, it was announced today at the news cooperative’s annual meeting at its New York headquarters.

Joining the board as a new director is Maha Abouelenein, CEO and founder of strategic communications consulting firm Digital and Savvy. Abouelenein, an entrepreneur with over 30 years of communications experience, has advised global corporations, tech start-ups, governments and individuals. Before founding Digital and Savvy, she served as head of global communications and public policy for Google in Dubai.

The two incumbents reelected to the board are:

  • Lisa DeSisto, CEO, Masthead Maine
  • Kevin Mowbray, president and CEO, Lee Enterprises

The two incumbents appointed to the board are Emily Barr and Maribel Perez Wadsworth.

The AP board has 11 directors. Directors are elected by members or appointed to the AP board by directors.

Each director is eligible to serve up to a total of nine years, although the chair is exempt from that rule.

The 2022 annual report is available online:


Lauren Easton
Vice President of Corporate Communications
The Associated Press

Nicole Meir
Media Relations Manager
The Associated Press

Contact us