Press Releases


AP announces two new directors, 10 incumbents at annual meeting

Left Patrick Talamantes, right, Kirk Davis

Left Patrick Talamantes, right, Kirk Davis
Patrick J. Talamantes, left, and Kirk Davis.

NEW YORK — Two new members were named and 10 incumbents were re-elected to The Associated Press board of directors, as announced at AP’s annual meeting today at its New York headquarters.

Joining the board is Kirk Davis, CEO of GateHouse Media LLC and chief operating officer of New Media Investment Group, and Patrick J. Talamantes, president and CEO of The McClatchy Company.

Davis was appointed to his current position in February 2014 and served as COO of GateHouse since 2009. Gatehouse is one of the largest publishers of locally based print and online media in the United States. Previously, Davis was CEO of Enterprise NewsMedia, a multimedia company acquired by GateHouse in 2006.

Talamantes was previously McClatchy’s vice president, finance, and chief financial officer from April 2001 to May 2012, responsible for the company’s financial operations, information technology and shared business services. In May 2011, he assumed additional oversight of McClatchy’s Florida newspapers, including the Miami Herald.

The 10 re-elected incumbents include:

• Donna J. Barrett, president and CEO of Community Newspaper Holdings Inc. (CNHI).

• Elizabeth Brenner, publisher of The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

• William Stacey Cowles, publisher of The Spokesman-Review and president of Cowles Company.

• Terry J. Kroeger, president and CEO of BH Media Group, a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, and publisher of The Omaha World-Herald.

• Robin McKinney Martin, publisher of The Santa Fe New Mexican.

• James M. Moroney III, chairman and CEO of A. H. Belo Corporation.

• Bill Nutting, vice president of The Ogden Newspapers Inc.

• David M. Paxton, president and CEO of Paxton Media Group.

• Steven R. Swartz, president and CEO of Hearst Corporation.

• Paul C. Tash, chairman and CEO of the Times Publishing Co.

The AP board has 20 directors. Directors are elected by members or appointed to the AP board. Each director is eligible to serve up to a total of nine years, although the chairman is exempt from that rule.

The 2014 AP Annual Report is available in digital format at:


Erin Madigan White
Senior Media Relations Manager
The Associated Press

Contact us