Press Releases


AP updates voting system for its NFL awards

NEW YORK – The Associated Press announced today it will update its voting system for the AP NFL Awards, which are given each year to National Football League players.

Choose a snippet image
Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, the 2022 winner of the AP MVP Award, throws a pass during the first half of an NFL football game against the Tennessee Titans, Nov. 17, 2022, in Green Bay, Wis. (AP Photo/Mike Roemer)

The awards will be announced during the 12th annual NFL Honors event on Feb. 9, 2023, on NBC and simulcast on the NFL Network.

“The essence of the AP NFL Awards remains the same – to recognize the top performers of the season,” AP Global Sports Editor Ricardo Zuniga said. “Our goal is to provide the voters with an accurate and fair voting system to reflect their preferences. These tweaks will help them in their selection process.”

The AP NFL Awards recognize the season’s top performers with honors including AP Most Valuable Player – a distinction AP has handed out since 1957 – and AP Coach of the Year. They are voted on by a nationwide panel of 50 sports journalists who cover the league.

Voters will rank their top five picks for MVP and top three picks for other awards. They will also rank their choices for first and second team All-Pro – the best players at each position. This process will more seamlessly allow for AP to name second and third-place finishers.

This season AP will again name Defensive Player of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Rookie of the Year, Offensive Rookie of the Year, Comeback Player of the Year, Assistant Coach of the Year, Coach of the Year and Most Valuable Player.


Lauren Easton
Vice President of Corporate Communications
The Associated Press

Nicole Meir
Media Relations Manager
The Associated Press

Contact us