Contact us

Funeral of AP video journalist Simone Camilli to be livestreamed

The funeral of Associated Press video journalist Simone Camilli, in his Tuscan hometown of Pitigliano, may be viewed Friday via a livestream on AP.org starting 5:30 p.m. local time in Italy (11:30 a.m. ET /  1530 GMT).

This photo taken in August 2014, shows Associated Press video journalist Simone Camilli on a balcony overlooking smoke from Israeli strikes in Gaza City. Camilli, 35, was killed in an ordnance explosion in the Gaza Strip, on Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2014, together with Palestinian translator Ali Shehda Abu Afash and three members of the Gaza police. Police said four other people were seriously injured, including AP photographer Hatem Moussa. (AP Photo/Lefteris Pitarakis)

Camilli and a freelance Palestinian translator, Ali Shehda Abu Afash, were killed Wednesday in Gaza when an unexploded missile believed to have been dropped in an Israeli airstrike blew up.

The funeral service is scheduled to begin 6 p.m. (12 p.m. ET / 1600 GMT), in the Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul. It will be celebrated by the bishop of Pitigliano-Sovana-Orbetello, the Rev. Guglielmo Borghetti.

AP President and CEO Gary Pruitt and other AP staff will attend.

Live coverage will also be available to all AP Direct clients from 1530 GMT, as well as AP Video Hub clients.

The funeral of Abu Afash, a Gaza resident, was held Wednesday in keeping with Muslim tradition.


Contact

Paul Colford
Director of Media Relations
The Associated Press
212-621-1895
pcolford@ap.org

Erin Madigan White
Senior Media Relations Manager
The Associated Press
212.621.7005
emadigan@ap.org


All contents © copyright 2017 Associated Press.
All rights reserved.